ASX‎ > ‎

Australian Securities Exchange

The Australian Securities Exchange (ASX) is the primary stock exchange in Australia. Currently, it is the 9th biggest stock exchange in the world, with over 2014 stocks listed, and a total market capitalisation of A$1.39 trillion. Market turnover during 2004 was $A779bn
It was founded 1987, but dates all the way back to 1861.
The main indexes in the ASX are:
  • S&P/ASX 200
  • All Ordinaries index

Other ASX indexes:

  • S&P/ASX 300 Index
  • S&P/ASX 100
  • S&P/ASX 50
  • S&P/ASX 20
  • S&P/ASX MidCap 50 Index
  • S&P/ASX Emerging Companies Index
  • S&P/ASX Small Ordinaries Index
  • S&P/ASX All Australian 50 Index
Trading times:
  • Pre-Market session - 07:00am to 10:00am AEST
  • Normal Trading session - 10:00am to 04:00pm AEST
    The market opens in alphabetic order, phased over the first ten minutes, with a small random time built in to prevent exact prediction of the first trades.
  • Single-Price auction to set the datily closing prices - :10pm and 4:12pm AEST
The two main Australian brokers for the ASX are:
For more information on the Australian Stock Exchange, see ASX wiki.